Mr. Han Li Wins 2009 ITS Goldsmid Award

Mr. Han Li selected as the 2009 International Thermoelectric Society Goldsmid Award recipient!

Mr. Li from Wuhan University of Technology, China has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 International Thermoelectric Society Goldsmid Award. The award, generously sponsored in part by Marlow Industries, will be given to Mr. Li during the award ceremony at the ICT 2009 banquet in Freiburg, Germany.

Mr. Li received his BS and MS degrees in Materials Science in 2001 and 2005, respectively, from Wuhan University of Technology, China.  Mr. Li is a currently Ph.D. candidate at the same school.  Mr. Li’s outstanding contributions have been documented in a number of journal publications, on the synthesis and characterization of nanostructured skutterudite materials.  His curriculum vitae can be found here.

 A total of four candidates competed for the award this year. In addition to Mr. Li, the other candidates were: 

  • Mr. Yee Kan Koh, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Mr. Jiong Yang, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, China
  • Ms. Mona Zebarjadi, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz, USA 

With a very strong pool of applicants this year, the selection was difficult but the Selection Committee eventually declared Mr. Han Li as the winner for this year. 

On behalf of the International Thermoelectric Society, I would like to thank all applicants and commend them for their outstanding accomplishments in the field of thermoelectrics. I would also like to, again, congratulate Mr. Li for this fine accomplishment.

Jihui Yang and Peter Rogl
Goldsmid Award Committee
International Thermoelectric Society