Call for Candidates to the 2012 Annual Young Investigator Award

The International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) announces the 2012 ITS Young Investigator Award for Excellence in Research in Thermoelectrics by a young investigator who holds a researcher/engineer position in either: academia, industry, government lab or scientific institute (e.g. The Max Planck Institute).  This award is to be given to a young researcher who has exhibited a record of excellent original work and significant results in the field of thermoelectrics or thermoelectric materials.  The recipient should have shown significant research in the early stages of his/her career.

The award is sponsored by Amerigon, Inc. and by the International Thermoelectrics Society (ITS) and carries a cash prize of two thousand dollars ($2000 in US currency) and a Descriptive Certificate. The 2012 award will be presented at the Banquet of the 31st International Conference on Thermoelectrics (ICT2012), July 9-12, in Aalborg, Denmark.

In addition, the recipient of the ITS Young Investigator Award will be given an invited talk at ICT2012 in order to highlight the research leading to the award.


The candidates are expected to hold a Ph.D. Degree and be actively engaged in theoretical, experimental, synthesis or device research in the field of thermoelectrics. The candidates must be in a researcher position or employed in a stable position in industry, a government lab or scientific institute.  The candidates must be within 5 years of receiving their Ph.D. as of July 9 of the year of the nomination.

The ITS Young Investigator Award for Excellence in Research in Thermoelectrics is intended for truly exceptional contributions to the field for a five-year period following the nominee’s Ph.D. The ITS Young Investigator Award is intended to be an annual award. However, in the event of the lack of applications that the ITS Board or Award Selection Committee views as meeting the expectations for this award, then no award will be given that year.

Criteria for selection:

An Award Selection Panel who will consider the afore mentioned eligibility criteria will choose the winner from among the applicants:

A nomination letter is required. A full resume of the candidate and highlighting the contributions justifying the nomination is also required.  Three letters of reference are required in addition to the nomination letter. None of the letters should exceed two pages.

The work will not be judged as part of their Ph.D. thesis but work that occurred after their Ph.D. research. The work may be a continuation of their Ph.D., but significant new contributions and findings will be required.  The selection committee will be considering only original work and contributions.

Journal Articles with publication dates, acceptance dates or submission dates within the 60 months preceding the July 09 cutoff date. Therefore for the 2012 award the period of consideration is July 09, 2007 through July 09, 2012.

Presentations at local, national and international meetings as well as invited seminars and colloquia in the same time period will be considered.

Other awards or recognition will also be considered.

Selection Panel:

The Selection Panel will consist of the previous ITS conference chair (i.e. ICT2011 Chairman for the 2012 Award) or his designee and he/she will serve as the Panel Chair. The Panel Deputy Chair will be appointed by the ITS President. The Panel Chair with the help of the Deputy Chair will nominate up to but not exceeding four other non-ITS Board members representing various geographical regions. The panel selection is accomplished through action of the ITS Board via whatever means are most convenient, most likely via email exchange.


Should be sent, preferably by e-mail, to ITS Award Committee Chair:

Dr. Thierry Caillat
NASA Jet propulsion Laboratory
MS 277-207
4800 Oak Grove Dr
Pasadena, CA 91109

A letter of nomination and no more than three letters of recommendation should be sent to Dr. Thierry Caillat directly from the references and nominator. (An email containing the subject “ITS Young Investigator Award”” and with attachment(s) as a word or pdf document is preferred).

Full Resume & Highlights of the 5 years following the Ph.D.

Copies of 1st page of publications, acceptances, or submissions in the last 60 months. (Manuscripts to be submitted or in progress will not be considered.)

Titles and locale of contributed or invited presentations given in the 5-year period under consideration.

Applications must be received by:

May 04, 2012

Each panelist will rank the applications using a standardized format that will weigh in the different criteria, and will submit the results to both the Panel Chair and Deputy Chair by e-mail. Ties will be resolved by vote organized by email or by a conference call among all Panelists. If there is any difficulty in the winner attending the conference the International Thermoelectric Society will endeavor to aid the winner in a feasible and reasonable manner.