Call for Candidates to the 2015 Annual Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award

The International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) announces the 2015 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award to recognize the outstanding achievements of a senior scientist for her/his contribution to the field of thermoelectricty. The award carries a cash prize of two thousand US dollars ($2000), honorary membership in the ITS and a Descriptive Certificate that will be presented at the Banquet of the 34th International Conference on Thermoelectrics (ICT 2015), in Dresden, Germany.  The award is co-sponsored by Komatsu Ltd. and is supported by the Max Plank Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids.

In addition, the 2015 Award will include cash contribution to the awardee to cover travel and fees for attending ICT 2015, June 28 – July 2, 2015 in Dresden, Germany.

Distinguished member of the scientific or engineering community whose contributions in theoretical, experimental, synthetic or device research in the field of thermoelectrics is publicly available.  Preference will be given to nominees that will be able to attend ICT 2015 in Dresden, Germany (the Award will not be bestowed in absentia except in extraordinary circumstances). Current members of the ITS board of directors are not eligible.

Criteria for selection:
The winner will be chosen from among the applicants by a Selection Panel who will consider the following items:

  • Journal Articles, Books, Conference Proceedings and other public promotion of their work.
  • Letter(s) of recommendation for the award.
  • Other recognition.

Selection Panel:
The 2015 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award Committee appointed by the ITS Award Committee will nominate a Selection Panel. The Selection Panel will review the nominations and make the final recommendation to the 2015 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award. ITS Board will make final approval or recommend that no award be made for 2015.

Should be sent by email in a pdf file to:

Takao Mori, ICT2015 Award Committee Chair
Group Leader
National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
Namiki 1-1, Tsukuba 305-0044
Tel: +81-29-860-4323
Fax: +81-29-851-6280

  • Letter of nomination from at least one ITS member. Including a short paragraph suitable for introducing the winner at the awards banquet.
  • Resume, or similar list of accomplishments.
  • Additional Letters of support for the nomination

The Committee Chair must receive applications by:

April 13, 2015