Call for Candidates to the 2016 Annual Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award

Call for Candidates to the 2016 Annual Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award

The International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) announces the 2016 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award to recognize outstanding achievement in scholarship and service to the thermoelectric community. The award carries a cash prize of two thousand US dollars ($2000), honorary membership in the ITS and a Descriptive Certificate that will be presented at the Banquet of the 35th International Conference on Thermoelectrics (ICT 2016), in Wuhan, China.  The award is co-sponsored by KELK Ltd. and is supported by the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids.

In addition, the 2016 Award will include cash contribution to the awardee to cover travel and fees for attending ICT 2016, May 29 – June 2, 2016 in Wuhan, China.  The awardee will present an invited presentation at the Conference.

The award shall normally be awarded to a single recipient. In cases where there are multiple individuals in a single nomination, the award selection committee must submit justification to the ITS Board of Directors.  In reviewing such applications, the selection committee should carefully consider whether the nominees have displayed a sustained, collaborative, and substantially equal contribution to the same accomplishments. 

Distinguished member of the scientific or engineering community whose contributions in theoretical, experimental, synthetic or device research in the field of thermoelectrics is publicly available.  Preference will be given to nominees that will be able to attend ICT 2016 in Wuhan, China (the Award will not be bestowed in absentia except in extraordinary circumstances). Current members of the ITS board of directors are not eligible.

Criteria for selection:
The winner will be chosen from among the applicants by a Selection Panel who will consider the following items:

  • Journal Articles, Books, Conference Proceedings and other public promotion of their work.
  • Service to the thermoelectric community;
  • Letter(s) of recommendation for the award.
  • Other recognition.

Selection Panel:
The 2016 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award Committee appointed by the ITS Award Committee will nominate a Selection Panel. The Selection Panel will review the nominations and make the final recommendation to the 2016 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award. ITS Board will make final approval or recommend that no award be made for 2016.

Should be sent by email in a pdf file to:

Ryoji Funahashi, ICT2016 Award Committee Chair
National Institute  Advanced Industrial Science & Technology
1-8-31 Midorigaoka, Ikeda, Osaka 563-8577, Japan
Tel: +81-72-751-9485
Fax: +81-72-751-8564

  • Letter of nomination from at least one ITS member. Including a short paragraph suitable for introducing the winner at the awards banquet.
  • Resume, or similar list of accomplishments.
  • Additional Letters of support for the nomination

The Committee Chair must receive applications by: March 11, 2016


ITS Awards Committee;

Ryoji Funahashi (AIST, Japan)

Sabah K. Bux (JPL, NASA, USA)

Silke Büehler-Paschen (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)