Call for Candidates to the 2018 Annual Young Investigator Award

The International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) announces the 2018 ITS Young Investigator Award for Excellence in Research in Thermoelectrics by a young investigator who holds a researcher/engineer position in either: academia, industry, government lab or scientific institute (e.g. The Max Planck Institute).  This award is to be given to a young researcher who has exhibited a record of excellent original work and significant results in the field of thermoelectrics or thermoelectric materials.  The recipient should have shown significant research in the early stages of his/her career. The work will not be judged as part of their Ph.D. thesis but work that occurred after their Ph.D. research. The work may be a continuation of their Ph.D., but significant new contributions and findings will be required.  The selection committee will be considering only original work and contributions.

The award is co-sponsored by Gentherm, Inc, and The International Thermoelectrics Society (ITS) and carries a cash prize of two thousand dollars ($2000 in US currency) and a Descriptive Certificate. The 2018 award will be presented at the banquet of the 37th International Conference on Thermoelectrics (ICT 2018), in Caen, France. The 2018 Award will also include a US$1000 contribution to the awardee to cover travel and fees for attending ICT 2018 in Caen, France.

In addition, the recipient of the ITS Young Investigator Award will present an invited talk at the ICT 2018 in order to highlight the research leading to the award.

The candidates are expected to hold a Ph.D. Degree and be actively engaged in theoretical, experimental, synthesis or device research in the field of thermoelectrics. The candidates must be in a researcher position or employed in a stable position in industry, a government lab or scientific institute.  The candidates must be within 10 years of receiving their Ph.D. as of June 30 of the year of the nomination.

The ITS Young Investigator Award is intended to be an annual award. However, in the event of the lack of applications that the ITS Board or Award Selection Committee views as meeting the expectations for this award, then no award will be given that year.

Criteria for selection:
An Award Selection Panel who will consider the aforementioned eligibility criteria will choose the winner from among the applicants. Journal articles with publication dates, acceptance dates or submission dates within the 120 months preceding the June 30 cutoff date will be considered. Therefore for the 2018 award the period of consideration is July 1st, 2008 through June 30, 2018. Presentations at local, national and international meetings as well as invited seminars and colloquia in the same time period will be considered. Other awards or recognition will also be considered.

The application should be sent to the Award Committee Chair:

Dr. Sabah Bux,
Jet Propulsion Laboratory


The following materials are required, sent as an email attachment to the above email address:

  • A nomination letter is required from a current ITS member.
  • A full resume of the candidate and highlighting the contributions justifying the nomination is also required.
  • No more than three letters of reference in addition to the nomination letter. The letters should not exceed two pages.
  • Copies of 1st page of publications, acceptances, or submissions in the last 120 months. (Manuscripts to be submitted or in progress will not be considered.)
  • Titles and locations of contributed or invited presentations given in the 10-year period under consideration.

Applications must be received by April 1, 2018.