Call for Nominations for 2018 Goldsmid and Graduate Student Awards

The International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) announces the 2018 Goldsmid Award for Excellence in Research in Thermoelectrics by a Graduate Student.

The award is sponsored by Marlow, Inc., and carries a cash prize of one thousand dollars ($1000) and a Descriptive Certificate that will be presented at the Banquet of the 37th International Conference on Thermoelectrics (ICT 2018), in Caen, France.

In addition, the 2018 Award will include a US$1000 contribution to the awardee to cover travel and fees for attending ICT 2018, July 1 – 5, 2018 in Caen, France.

The Graduate Student Awards follow the same eligibility and selection criteria for the Goldsmid award, and will be awarded to runners-up of the Goldsmid Award, up to four. The Graduate Student Awards are supported by ITS and are US $500 each.

Ph.D. candidate graduate student who is actively engaged in theoretical, experimental, synthesis or device research in the field of thermoelectrics.

Criteria for selection:
The winner will be chosen from among the applicants by a Selection Panel who will consider the following items:

  • Journal Articles with publication dates, acceptance dates or submission dates in the 24 months preceding the conference.
  • Presentations at local, national and international meetings as well as invited seminars and colloquia in the same period.
  • Letters of reference.
  • Other recognition.

Selection Panel:
The 2018 Goldsmid Award Committee appointed by the ITS President will nominate up to but not exceeding six other non-ITS Board members representing various geographical regions to form the Selection Panel.  The Selection Panel will review the nominations and make the final recommendation to the 2018 Goldsmid Award Committee.

Applications should be sent by email in a single pdf file to the Committee Chair Prof. Donald Morelli ( and include:

  • Letter of nomination from thesis advisor.
  • Resume.
  • Copies of publications, acceptances or submissions in the last 24 months. First authorship will be factored in.
  • Titles and locale of presentations given in the last 24 months.
  • Letters of reference (no more than 3)

The Committee Chair must receive applications by April 15, 2018.