

### A: Theory

- A1 : theoretical study of bulk materials
- A2 : nanoscale and low-dimension induced effects
- A3 : novel concept and related physical phenomenon
- A4 : informatics, data mining, machine learning
- A5 : other theory considerations

### B: Thermoelectric Materials

- B1 : pnictides
- B2 : chalcogenides
- B3 : Heusler compounds
- B4 : oxides & silicides
- B5 : organic & hybrid compounds
- B6 : magnetic related materials
- B7 : phonon engineering
- B8 : novel materials
- B9 : processing
- B10 : other material topics

# **Key Dates**

## **C**: Measurement & Characterization

- C1 : nano/microstructure
- C2 : properties
- C3 : other characterization techniques

## **D** : Thermoelectric Modules

D1 : design and fabrication D2 : thin film devices D3 : bulk devices D4 : standardization D5 : other TE module considerations

## E: System & Industrial Applications

- E1 : cooling applications E2 : automotive applications E3 : generator applications E4 : sensor applications E5 : other waste heat recovery E6 : other industrial aspects

**Abstract Deadline** January 31, 2022 March 31, 2022 **Early Registration Deadline** 





Sendai International Center Aobayama, Aoba-ku, Sendai, Miyagi 980-0856 Japan http://www.aobayama.jp/english/

## **Registration Fees**

Registration as	Early Registration (by March 31, 2022)	Late Registration (after March 31, 2022)
Regular participant	¥85,000	¥95,000
Student	¥45,000	¥55,000
Accompanying person	¥35,000	¥45,000



# The 41st International Conference on Thermoelectrics &

# **7th Asian Conference** on Thermoelectrics 2022

## First Announcement

# June 26 (Sun.) ~ June 30 (Thu.), 2022 Sendai International Center, Sendai, Miyagi, Japan

Conference Chair : Takao Mori (National Institute for Materials Science) and Yuzuru Miyazaki (Tohoku University)

## Organizer : Organizing Committee of The 41st International Conference on Thermoelectrics

Contact information : Secretariat of ICT/ACT 2022 C/O Inter Group Corp. Convention Dept. 4th Floor, KYODO TSUSIN KAIKAN, 2-5 Toranomon 2-chome, Minato-ku, Tokyo 105-0001, Japan E-mail : ict2022@intergroup.co.jp URL: http://ict2022.jp/

# Welcome Message

It is almost exactly 200 years since Thomas Seebeck discovered the Seebeck effect. The field of thermoelectrics is now at an exciting time in history, with new high performance materials, novel enhancement principles being discovered, innovative module development, and the long held dream of wide-spread power generation applications appearing to be closer to realization then it has ever been before. With the urgent necessity of energy saving to approach the carbon neutral/zero emission goals for the environment, and also energy harvesting to dynamically power the trillion sensors for the loT society, for example, thermoelectric technology is expected to play a large and critical role.

It has been an extremely difficult and tragic two years with the worldwide pandemic, and hopefully in 2022 we are finally coming out and in the stage of recovering from it. Online conferences can never replace the dynamical and myriad exchanges and discussions organically blossoming at onsite conferences. It is our great pleasure and honor to invite the worldwide thermoelectric community and any interested members of the whole scientific or industrial or even political community to join us for the 41st International Conference on Thermoelectrics (& 7th Asian Conference on Thermoelectrics) ICT/ACT2022 to be held in the vibrant and attractive Sendai City in northern Japan from June 26-30, 2022.

Japan has held the conference before in Yokohama in 1993, Nagoya in 1998, and Kobe in 2013, and has had a long history of active research and development on thermoelectrics. By hosting ICT in Japan for the first time in about 10 years, it will be a good chance to relay the recent academic and industrial ongoings of Japan to thermoelectric conversion technology experts around the world and to make a significant contribution to the development of this field.

Hopefully all participants can create a new chapter for thermoelectrics at this conference, and we can recover our in-person vital and dynamic exchanges which are critical for science advancement and innovation.

Looking forward to seeing you there!

Takao Mori & Yuzuru Miyazaki Chairs of ICT/ACT2022



## Conference Organization

#### **Conference Chair**

Takao MORI National Institute for Materials Science

Yuzuru MIYAZAKI Tohoku University

Advisor

Kunihito KOUMOTO Nagoya University

Ryoji FUNAHASHI National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

### Organizing Committee (Financial)

Kaoru KIMURA University of Tokyo

Masatoshi TAKEDA Nagaoka University of Technology

Isao OHKUBO National Institute for Materials Science

Organizing Committee (Scientific Program)

Takao MORI National Institute for Materials Science

Michitaka OHTAKI Kyushu University

Koji MIYAZAKI Kyushu Institute of Technology

Michihiro OHTA National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

Yoshiyuki NONOGUCHI Kyoto Institute of Technology

Takahiro YAMAMOTO Tokyo University of Science

Organizing Committee (Local Organization) Yuzuru MIYAZAKI Tohoku University

Takahiro YAMADA Tohoku University

Kei HAYASHI Tohoku University

Norihiko L. OKAMOTO Tohoku University

Organizing Committee (Publication)

Mikio KOYANO Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Atsuko KOSUGA Osaka Prefecture University

Naohito TSUJII National Institute for Materials Science

Organizing Committee (Company Outreach) Katsushi FUKUDA KELK

Organizing Committee (Proceedings) Tsunehiro TAKEUCHI Toyota Technological Institute

David BERTHEBAUD National Institute for Materials Science

Paolo MELE Shibaura Institute of Technology

#### International Advisory Board Franck GASCOIN CRISMAT, France

Yuri GRIN

Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany

Peter ROGL University of Vienna, Austria

Dario NARDUCCI University of Milano Bicocca, Italy

Michael J. REECE Queen Mary University of London, UK

Krzysztof WOJCIECHOWSKI AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland

Ctirad UHER University of Michigan, USA

Mercouri KANATDIZIS Northwestern University, USA

Zhifeng REN University of Houston, USA

Donald T. MORELLI Michigan State University, USA

G. Jeffrey SNYDER Northwestern University, USA

Jihui YANG University of Washington, USA

George S. NOLAS University of South Florida, USA

Sabah BUX Jet Propulsion Laboratory/California Institute of Technology, USA

Eric S. TOBERER Colorado School of Mines, USA

Alexandra ZEVALKINK Michigan State University, USA

Holger KLEINKE University of Waterloo, Canada

Lidong CHEN Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, China

Xinbing ZHAO Zhejiang University, China

Jing-Feng LI Tsinghua University, China

Xinfeng TANG Wuhan University of Technology, China

Kuei-Hsien CHEN National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Su-Dong PARK Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute, Korea

Jong-Soo RHYEE Kyung Hee University, Korea

Kanishka BISWAS Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India Alexander T. BURKOV

loffe Institute, Russia

Vladimir KHOVAYLO National University of Science and Technology "MISIS", Russia