Call for Candidates for the 2019 ITS ‘Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics’ Award

The International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) announces the 2019 ITS Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award to recognize outstanding achievement in scholarship and service to the thermoelectric community. The award carries a cash prize of two thousand US dollars ($2000), honorary membership in the ITS, and a Descriptive Certificate that will be presented at the 38th International Conference on Thermoelectrics (ICT 2019), in Gyeongju, Korea, June 30- July 4, 2019. The award is co-sponsored by KELK and the ITS and supported by the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids.

In addition, the 2019 Award will include financial support to the awardee to cover travel and fees for attending ICT 2019 in Gyeongju, Korea, June 30- July 4, 2019.

The award shall normally be bestowed upon a single recipient. In cases where there are multiple individuals in a single nomination, the award selection committee submits justification to the ITS Board of Directors in case such nomination will be awarded.


Distinguished member of the scientific or engineering community whose contributions in theoretical, experimental, synthetic or device research in the field of thermoelectrics are publicly available. Current members of the ITS board of directors are not eligible.

Criteria for selection:

The winner will be chosen from among the applicants by a Selection Panel which will consider the following items:

  • Journal articles, books, conference proceedings and other public promotion of their work.
  • Service to the thermoelectric community;
  • Letter(s) of recommendation for the award.
  • Other recognition.

In case of the multiple nomination – sustained, collaborative, and substantially equal contribution of each nominee to the same accomplishments

Selection Panel:

The 2019 Outstanding Achievement in Thermoelectrics Award Committee appointed by the ITS Board of Directors will form a Selection Panel. The Selection Panel will review the Award nominations. On the basis of the opinion of the Selection Panel, the Award Committee will make a recommendation, which is subject to approval by the ITS Board of Directors.


Applications should be sent by email in a pdf file to:

Dr. Jan König

Fraunhofer IPM



Required materials to be submitted:

  • Letter of nomination from an ITS member.
  • Resume or similar list of accomplishments.
  • Three letters of support for the nomination.

The Committee Chair must receive applications by: April 15, 2019

Latest news

Skip to content